Yoga

Get Busy and Be the Change

I took a personal day today and it feels awesome! My 9-5 is starting to get a little stressful. The merger is 2 business days away. Seems an appropriate time for a personal day, right?

In my world, personal days aren’t filled with lounging around eating bonbons. I am usually busier than I am in the office, and today is no different.  I was out of bed, fired up and ready to go at 7am. I am doing some serious crafting on my new project and I am pumped to unleash it on the world, when the time is right.

I am forever working on or volunteering for 5 different projects at once. People ask me all time time how and why I do it.  I don’t really have one explanation.  I am Pita and naturally firey. I’m a Virgo, so I seek control perfection. I’m an only child, so I want to surround myself with people. I am a Phi Sig, so life long learning and leadership through service were an integral part of my emotional development as a woman. I am a yogini.

The idea of seva was integral to my yoga training.  I was taught that practicing yoga off the mat was (is) equally important to your physical practice. The work I do on myself off the mat; developing my compassion, giving my time, that’s what makes me a yogini.

  The word seva means ‘together with’ and is describing those actions that seek collective upliftment through an understanding of the needs of others and are based on togetherness and integration. Seva is an expression of compassion, of the desire to uplift and assist people. ~ Sannyasi Ratnashakti

Seva is taking your yoga off the mat, and into your community. Off the mat is what I like the most about humans with a dedicated yoga practice. They the best little do gooders on earth!  They’re the movers and shakers. They guide people to look inside and to think. They’re advocates. I take pride in being a do-gooder, and you should to.  If you’re not doing good on a daily basis, you can’t complain about all the wrongs in the world. You have to get off your ass.

I know it’s not easy. We all have busy schedules. Volunteering is tough work. It’s a commitment. It’s time away from family. It’s work when you could be lounging in your hammock. But once you dig in, you’ll realize that it feeds your SOUL. The people you volunteer with become a part of your family. And that service leads you to be more committed to the people and things you love in your life.

Figure out what it is that your passionate about. Figure out what you want to change. Find someone that’s working to change it. Ask them if they need help. They do!

Talk to me!

